BCQuilter's Weblog

The Snowball Fight is almost over….

Posted on: 24 June 2012

Just like a snowball rolling down a hill, this quilt got bigger and bigger.

You may reading the adventures of the snowball quilt.  At that time, I was trying to decide on border options.  As per usual, a different idea developed on its own.

With a snowball block, you end up with half square triangle bits left over.  Instead of having to deal with these triangles, I decided at the time of making the snowball blocks to stitch to seam lines, and save the remaining pieces for something.

That something developed into an idea for a border.  I have always wanted to do a pieced border, and this seemed as good an opportunity as any.

I have the top completely done.  I stitched the HSTs into pairs, and then stitched the pairs into long strips.  I had no idea how long I needed them, so I just stitched until it seemed right, and I had four borders ready.

For the two dark red borders, I cut strips 2′, and strip pieced them together.  I had three different dark red fabrics, and randomly stitched the strips together.  Some were 4, 5 or 6 strips wide.  I then sub-cut these to 2″.  And randomly grabbed from different piles and stiched them together.  I continued stitching them until I had four borders.  Oh oh… I forgot I wanted a second border, so more stitching went on.

I then measured the quilt and found my first border length.  Cut, pinned, stiched, and did the same with the other borders.  One thing I realized when I was partially through the first borders, that I would have cut them to fit differently.  Of course when you are working with 1½” finished pieces, they do not adjust very well to the size of my quilt.  (This is one of those ideas, that squaring up the blocks as you go, would have been a very good idea – one I didn’t follow).  I trimmed the last unit of the strips to fit.  Next time, I think I would like to measure from the center of each border, to the end, and cut off each end to fit the size I needed.  This quilt was a learning experience!  What better way to experiment, than with scraps!

In my mind, I think if I had measured from the center point, then all the seams for the three borders would have lined up.  As it is, one half of each border lines up, the other half does not.  But shhh… if no one looks really close, maybe they won’t notice.  :)

It was a nice day outside, so I hung the quilt top on the line, and took a photo.  The sun is kind of shining behind it, giving it some interesting shadows.  The next step is to get this quilt, sandwiched, quilted and finished.

I don’t quite have enough energy to get that far, yet.

The fabrics for this quilt came from my stash, and my scraps.  Some of the pieces, are from cotton shirts I purhcased at the local thrift store, and cut up.  I wanted to make a quilt with a more masculine feel to it, and one way of doing that, was by buying the shirts!  Insted of just using blues, browns, greens.  Why are those colours more often used to represent male?

I am happy that this one is done.  I think I started it three years ago (practically to the month!).  I started making the snowballs as a leader/ender and then earlier this year, I thought enough was enough, it was time to get it finished.

-Alice

Food for thought:   Have you ever “shopped” your stash to make  a quilt?  Do you have bits and pieces of fabric left over from projects, and they are odd shaped and sizes?  Take 15-20 minutes and start cutting them into useable pieces.  You don’t have to do it for long, and you’ll be surprised how quickly those messy scraps can be made.   You can even make a “free” quilt by using up your scraps.  Don’t put a time frame on it.  Just take a light and a dark piece, stitch them together, each time you are working on a quilt, at the begining and end of each strip you piece.  Once they are stitched, press, and place in a bin.  Before long you will have enough pieces for a 4-patch, 9-patch or any other block you desire.  For more great scrap busting ideas, be sure to check out Bonnie K. Hunter’s blog and website.

 

 

8 Responses to "The Snowball Fight is almost over…."

That’s a cracking quilt Alice! The pieced border works a treat. Have already chopped up the scraps/leftovers into various sizes ready to make a scrap quilt.

Wow! That’s a LOT of little pieces, but it looks great. And inspiring. I have a pile of “lost” corners from a couple of projects I finished not so long ago…maybe I’ll see what I can come up with for them.

I love snowball quilts, but have never made one. Your HSTs look great as the border too! A very beautiful quilt, but not overly feminine so a man can use it. I have a lot of shirts in my fabric closet too for masculine quilts.

Fantastic quilt, Alice! Looks very similar the the Fabric Frolic tops I have made but not yet finished. The more I see of scrappy quilts, the more I want to make them. I follow Bonnie Hunter, too, and have adapted her ideas for dealing with my scraps. I do leader/enders and cut my scraps in sizes all ready-to-sew. I highly recommend her methods. Good job, Alice!

Liri

What a great quilt you’ve put together! I love it! I had to laugh at your question: Do you have bits and pieces of fabric left over? Ha! Ha! I could start a scrap store! Some day I may get around to doing something with them. What’s best to me is that you are feeling well enough to start quilting again — well, almost, and part of the time! Just don’t tire yourself out; take your time! I “read” so many great tips and ideas, including Bonnie’s, and I need to start putting those tips into practice! Maybe I shouls start right this moment? Hang in there, Kiddo! Good to see your post! —“Love”

Very colorful quilt you have there;) Love it;) And the border is great;)
As for shopping the stash…that’s all I have money for right now;) Not complaining, mind you, just stating a fact here;) What’s that saying…”Want what you have”? I think “free” quilts (ones made from leftovers) are fun…you can use them without feeling afraid of wear and tear;)
Happy Quilting!!

So glad you are able to do some quilting! The snowballs are wonderful but that border makes it fantastic. Great way to use all those bonus pieces as Bonnie says. I have organized my scraps using Bonnie’s method and have done some leaders and enders as well, but not recently. I need to get back into that cause it really is fun and a great way to use scraps and make lovely quilts.
Be well

snowball is one of my favourite blocks,bright happy quilt thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

Calendar

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

