BCQuilter's Weblog

Have you ever had one of those days?

Posted on: 16 January 2008

Well, today was one of those days. To cap it off, I don’t really remember what I did today. But that’s okay, because I really want to write about my shopping trip.

I had some errands to do, and thought I would see if I could find some bicycle clips to help with quilting a community quilt I’m working on. Not only that, but I can use them for my other quilts when I get them to the quilting stage. From one store to the next, to the next, to the next. Nothing. I didn’t want to goto the Bicycle Shop, as they usually are pretty expensive (the shop that is).

While checking out a couple of the dollar stores, I picked up some embellishments. I am going to make a few “bags” or purses, and I wanted to pick up a few things. That was a success… perhaps too many, oh well.. I’m sure I’ll find a use somewhere, or my daughter will.

At one store – Canadian Tire, I didn’t find the bicycle clips either, I was just about to give up and leave, when I noticed something hanging on one of the end of the aisles. They are called Twist Ties. They have a bendable core, but are covered in foam. Three in a package, but on sale for just over $4. Why not… I could bend them and wrap them around the roll of the quilt.

Now to another dollar store. More embellishments. When something caught my eye in the hair accessories aisle. Remember the slap (snap) bracelets. They stretch out flat, but smack it on your wrist and it curls up. That might work… for $1, not bad… if it doesn’t work I can give it to my youngest or my granddaughter.

Back home with my treasures! Of course I have to test out my finds. I mentioned the charity quilt I’m working on. I took the bracelet and “slapped” it against one end of the roll, and took a twist tie and twisted/bent/wrapped it around the other end. Took another twist tie and secured the other side of the quilt (I’m currently quilting down the middle). Quick look, everything seems to be holding. A quick trip downstairs to show hubby, my find! And back up to the quilt room. Everything still holding. This is good! Now for the big test! The sewing machine. Sew far sew good (sorry about the pun, but it is true). The bracelet goes up over the extension table, and is holding the roll in place. Now the twist tie on the other side comes up… hmmm… snags a bit on the extension table. Now the other twist tie comes up, snags a bit too.

Both the bracelet and the twist ties work, but I am much happier with the bracelet. What a happy surprise! Tomorrow, I’ll have to go in and pick up a few more.

Tags: , ,

1 Response to "Have you ever had one of those days?"

Aha! I saw you blog roll on your APQ blog – so glad you set up your own! Which leads me to a confession, I’ve had my own blog for a little while now. I didn’t tell anyone on the APQ site because this blog isn’t really related to quilting and is more for family and friends to see what I’ve been up to. I even feel a bit guilty about my lack of blogging on APQ but I just haven’t been able to do much quilting of late (grrr!). Anyway, I’ve added you to my blog roll if that’s okay!

Love the idea of the snap bracelets, I haven’t seen them in years! I’ll have to keep my eye out for them, they’d be worth a try as I’ve never gotten around to buying bike clips either.

Cheers and keep on bloggin’, Jen :o)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
