BCQuilter's Weblog

Sewing Fuzzies

Posted on: 11 February 2008

What is a sewing fuzzie? There is probably a more technical term, but this is what I think is a “Sewing Fuzzie”

Sewing fuzzies are when the needle thread bunches up on the bottom side of the fabric.

Sewing Fuzzies (Click on the picture to see it full size, then click your back button on your browser to come back to this page.)

I have determined there are 2 possible causes for this… perhaps each contributing to the other.

1) Not holding the bobbin and needle thread while sewing the first few (6 or 7) stitches, especially when free motion quilting. Be sure to bring the bobbin thread up to the top of the fabric. Hold Bobbin and Needle thread firmly and pull slightly as you take the first 6 or 7 stitches… pulling slightly will ensure small stitches, which will secure the threads. Be sure to trim before continuing stitching.

2) Thread/Fabric lint in the bobbin area. Some threads will “fuzz” more than others, creating copious amounts of lint in your bobbin area of your machine. If you find that you are having a lot of lint, perhaps clean out this area, after every 3-5 bobbin changes while machine quilting.

a. Turn off your machine. (Very important – I wasn’t turning it off when I was plucking out the broken needle thread pieces in the bobbin area, and it continued to create fuzzies. Turning the machine off, “resets” it.) Clean it out. If you are on the 10th bobbin change, change your needle, or at least check it for sharpness.

b. Rethread your machine. Be sure your pressure foot is up, before threading. If it is down, it can cause some issues with the tension (when pressure foot is down, the tension discs will apply pressure to the thread, when up, no pressure is applied).

c. Stitch a test sandwich. (I am now keeping one nearby, as I am tired of pulling out the fuzzies on the quilt I’m working on). This will get you back into the rhythm of free motion quilting.

3) Nothing to do with Thread Fuzzies, but something I discovered… When free motion quilting, do NOT keep needle down. I think part of the problem, I was having, was I was pushing the fabric, when the needle was in the down position, causing the needle to be pushed (bent) back, and thus hitting the bobbin casing below, and causing issues.

My friends, this is my answer for a problem I was having. As I discover more, I will be posting them.

6 Responses to "Sewing Fuzzies"

Have you found that even when you do everything right, you’ll still get fuzzies? I think the machine deliberately spits the dummy now and then just for the sake of it and wants you to leave it alone for a little while! Happy quilting, Jen :o)

Since I started paying attention to what I was doing, I haven’t noticed it happening.

Turning the machine off, after a fuzzie event, made a big difference. -Alice

Your machine must be computerised – mine isn’t!! :o)

LOL… yes it is! I have a Janome 6600.

I would like to get 2 more machines… an embroidery (not sure which Bernina or Janome), and a serger (not sure about brand at all, but at least a 4 thread one).

🙂

I have found that by putting just a small amount of duct tape around the spindle at the top to give some added resistance to the thread (keeps it from spinning wildly thus causing the “fuzzies” underneath the quilt). You will have to play around with the amount as you can put too much on and virtually stop the spinning of the spool (not good). Good luck!

Me again! Thanks for the comment on my blog.

The annoying thing was that when I put on the top it was too stretchy and made me look a frump! Had to go back to some old faithful clothes instead, grrr!!!

Hope you had a lovely Valentines Day (if you observe it!) and good weekend. Jen 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 99 other followers

Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
