BCQuilter's Weblog

Friends are special.

Posted on: 18 February 2008

I received an email from a quilter friend, inviting me to another quilter friend’s house for tea for “a celebration of friendship”. I have never been invited to anything like this before, so I was looking forward to it.

I picked up Shirley, and off we went up to Nina’s house. Shirley was acting a little odd, but this was a new experience for me, so I took it all in stride. Shirley pulled out a wall hanging to show Nina… and says to me “she gets to see it first”. I’m okay with that… still not knowing what was going on. Then they turned to show me the quilt, and told me it was for me!

Imagine my surprise! And why would I receive such a wonderful gift of friendship? The week before I had had a terrible week, well, more likely one day, but it felt like a week. They had decided they wanted to do something for me. So they presented me with a Friendship Hearts wallhanging.

Friendship Hearts (click on image for a large view, click your BACK button on your browser to come back to this page.)

Shirley apologized to me… as I had gone over a few days earlier to show her the Star Bright quilt, and she didn’t invite me in. It was a nice sunny day, so I hadn’t thought about it. She was working on this quilt and had it at her kitchen table.

We had a wonderful visit. I am lucky to have made such good friends.  I thank them both from the bottom of my heart, to make my day brighter, and my heart lighter.

4 Responses to "Friends are special."

Oh how lovely! It has a very Valentine-ish feel too. Quilty people do make the best friends don’t they?! 🙂

Alice,
I am so happy for you! I tell you some people really know how to touch your “heart”, don’t they. Very, very special.
Leisa

You are very welcome, Alice. It was a great pleasure to help Nina with the workings of this wall hanging. You are special to us.

Alice that is really great. What a wonderful quilt too.
I am happy your have found such great friends.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
