BCQuilter's Weblog

Paper Piecing – its not as hard as I think.

Posted on: 1 April 2008

February 2007 was another new adventure for me. I wasn’t sure if I was ready for paper-piecing, but I decided to attend the paper-piecing demonstration our guild was hosting.

I picked three fabrics as suggested.

The “project” we were going to be doing was a tea-cup! Cool, I thought. The facilitator explained that before she moved to our community friends of hers made several tea-cup blocks as a going away gift for her. She was to make them into a quilt… she likes tea-cups.

After a couple of false-starts – putting the fabric the wrong way, if you have done paper-piecing you know what I mean. If you haven’t… the thing to remember is everything is done “upside-down”.

This is my block. Unfinished size 5½”.

Paper Pieced Tea Cup

As usual… once I’ve attended a workshop or demonstration at our guild… the ideas start popping into my head.

Thought #1 – In April I was going to visit my Mom… wouldn’t this be a great thing to teach her. Something we could do together. We did spend part of a day working on a paper-piecing tea cup block… a different pattern than the one above… and I don’t have pictures. LOL.

Thought #2 – The company I was under contract with had moved into their new office in January, and their coffee room is very nice.. .and needed something. I started planning a little wall-hanging for them. They have a variety of mugs of different colours and sizes and styles. This is the wall-hanging I gave to them. I finished it in October 2007.

Paper pieced wall hanging

The spoons and cups are paper-pieced.  The “Coffee Room” letters are my first attempt at machine applique (with no idea what I was doing).   I stitched-in-the-ditch around each cup and spoon.  And added some “steam” off each cup.

And that was the beginning adventure into paper-piecing.   There is lots I would like to pursue in this technique, just haven’t got there yet.  Several other projects need to be started and completed first.   Believe me… it is not the end for paper-piecing for me!

2 Responses to "Paper Piecing – its not as hard as I think."

For a first attempt that’s great!

I enjoy paper piecing too. I have a Court House Steps half finished, somewhere……

Jen :o)

Thanks Jen.

After I got to the class… I realized my fabric choices were not the best for this project. LOL.

But I got the technique, and I’m still interested in doing more!

-Alice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 99 other followers

Calendar

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
