BCQuilter's Weblog

Curved Piecing

Posted on: 13 April 2008

What a day I had. Yes, that’s right, another guild workshop.

I wasn’t originally going to take the “Curve Play” workshop our quilters’ guild was doing, but then I thought why not!

I must admit that working with curves was a wee bit intimidating. But I’m glad I took the workshop. Each of us bought the Curve Play pattern by Fun Easy Designed.

The basic premise is you take a number of squares. Take the template, and cut. Then mix them two sections, so each fabric is with another. Stitch. The neat thing, there is no real setting in… the pattern is designed to have some “extra” bits left over. They remain until you square up your block. Once you have your curves stitched in… you take up to 5 of these pieces, and with the template… cut again. Switch them all up, piece together, and now you have your block. Then arrange your blocks to make a pleasing design with the fabrics.

I was able to produce 9 blocks during the workshop. For a small quilt, I need 15 more.

I have seen this quilt pattern primarily made with oriental style fabrics. I wanted to do something different. I chose a purple fabric that had some circles and lines which were bright colours. I coordinated with some other bright colours.

Curve Play quilt blocks

These are my blocks randomly placed to get a feel for how this quilt is going to be.

Another quilt to be finished…

2 Responses to "Curved Piecing"

Hey ho, just a quick update about Fanny. She’s home from the shop and working beeeeautifully! I’ve been piecing the cut off triangles from that baby quilt I’ve been doing in the 1930’s repros.

How’s the curved quilt coming along? Will it be a wall hanging or lap quilt?

Cheers, Jen 🙂

I am intrigued by this technique but have been unable to locate the pattern. Can you tell me where you purchased it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Calendar

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
