BCQuilter's Weblog

Musings and an Update

Posted on: 7 May 2008

Have you missed me? Now come on, you can be honest… I know… you didn’t even notice I was gone.

Not much has happened in my quilting world lately. Just working on a few projects, nothing new.

I also started a new job, and that has taken a lot of energy. I’m not really sure how long I can do it, so I am looking for other work.

So, what am I currently working on. I am working on my Mom’s redwork quilt. I am working on the machine quilting. The redwork blocks have diagonal lines 1/4″ and 1″ apart. I was going to do a cross-hatch but with just the one set of lines, I thought the cross-hatching would make it too busy. I have each row going in a different direction. I like the effect. Now just to figure out how to do the alternating “puss-in-the-corner” blocks, and then the border. I am thinking in the bottom corner of the border… or even all 4 corners of doing a mouse motif, with 3 mice, one on the horizontal border, one on the vertical border, and one in the corner – the corners of the borders are a 4-patch.

My contest quilt – fizzled. I got the top completed, and it looks very nice, even if I do say so myself (and I just did). It fizzled, well… I was getting close to the deadline – 48 hours. I thought to save myself some money (bank balance getting low – hence the new job), I would piece 4 batting sections together – 3 vertical, 1 horizontal. Wouldn’t you know it… the middle vertical and the horizontal piece – puckered/buckled… whatever you want to call it. I thought that maybe laying it out, and then spray basting all 3 layers together would help ease it out. I left it for the night. The next morning, I thought that I would not be doing myself justice, nor the quilt, if I proceeded to quilt it. So, I didnt’ get it done for the contest. Ah well, perhaps another contest, and if not, well at any rate, I’ll have a nice quilt for my bed, when I finish it. I may even try some of these free-motion quilting techniques that I have a couple DVD’s on.

Well, that brings us pretty well up to date…. almost. But that is for another blog entry – I am teaching a beginner Bargello class in 2.5 weeks.

Until next time!

4 Responses to "Musings and an Update"

I know how important it is to have a job that still lets you do what you love, it’s a pity this one is so draining. You’ll find the right one sooner or later!

Maybe you’ll receive so many quilt teaching offers that this will become your profession! You’ll be the next Jinny Beyer or Kim Diehl 😉

Are you going to show us a photo of the competition quilt too?

Jen 🙂

I didn’t have to wait long… LOL.

I was expecting you to ask for a picture… when I get it off the camera and onto the picture, I’ll post it.

Me be the next Jinny Beyer or Kim Diehl… now those are lofty goals! Thanks for the encouragement though. If I do, then you’ll have to have me invited to Tasmania, eh?

-Alice

Absolutely! Especially since most overseas quilters only visit ‘the mainland’ (what we Taswegians refer to the rest of Australia as). I think Jinny’s been a few times, but never to Tas.

Just keep in mind that Kim Diehl had only been quilting for a short while (was it 12 months?) before APQ asked her to put one of her designs in the magazine after she had entered a quilt in one of their competitions. I read that a few years ago and it has always stuck in my mind.

Jen 🙂

Oi… I have some really big stitches to look up to, eh?

Well, I’ve been quilting for 24 months (approximately), and no one is knocking on my door, ringing my phone, or emailing me yet.

LOL.

Thanks for the vote of confidence!

-Alice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Calendar

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
