BCQuilter's Weblog

Another crazy adventure….

Posted on: 18 May 2008

Have you ever wanted to do a technique, or make a certain type of quilt or block, and was intimidated by it?

Have you ever been intrigued by any of the above?

Have you ever imagined “how did they do that, it looks very complicated”, and were afraid to try it?

Me too! Too all of the above.

Bargello is one of those techniques, quilts that intimidated but intrigued me at the same time. They are so beautiful, and so many designs. The first Bargello I saw was the twist or ribbon style. There was no way I could do that. Then I started searching on the internet about Bargello’s. I tell you, there are some gorgeous works out there. Just no way, I can do that.

Well, it just so happens, that I have made a Bargello quilt … and it was a wall-hanging, which made it less intimidating. Cori Derksen and Myra Harder of Blue Meadow Designs designed Bohemian Rhapsody for McCall’s Quilting April 2007 issue. And what is even better, they have posted the story behind this quilt on their blog. (Clicking on the quilt name will take you to the page the blog entry is on Day 44).

I didn’t know about them, their website or blog until just this year.

I made my version of this pattern “West Coast Sunset” in the fall of 2007. I changed the pattern to suit my needs, and to allow better placement of the colours. I live in the South-west corner of British Columbia, and the sun sets over the mountains of Vancouver Island. After completing the top for this quilt, that is what it reminded me of, and therefore it was named “West Coast Sunset”.

Westcoast Sunset Bargello Quilt

Now, have you ever considered teaching a quilting class? Gotcha there didn’t I!

Well, I have, and I am. Bet you can’t guess what I’m teaching? Do remember, that I have only been quilting for 2 years. Oh, you figured it out, because I’ve been talking about Bargello’s at the beginning of this blog entry.

Yes, that’s right… I am going to teach a Bargello class. It is titled “If I Can Do a Bargello – So Can You!”.

I am going to talk:

  • history of Bargello
  • about fabric selection
  • designing a bargello
  • Books and Internet resources on Bargello
  • Cutting fabrics
  • Piecing options – matching seams, off-set seams, separator strips

My class is next Sunday – May 25th for our local quilt guild members. I was a little disappointed at first of the low numbers (5) taking the class, but as it is my first quilt class, perhaps smaller numbers would be better.

The second Bargello that I am making (the class example), will be for my eldest daughter. She wanted 3 specific colours – pink, purple and lime green. I think I have succeeded in selecting fabrics to meet this demand. Pictures to come after the Bargello class.

If you are looking for resources on Bargello, I have posted the list I am providing my class.

Until next time!

2 Responses to "Another crazy adventure…."

Perfect name for a quilt, and the colours really give the impression of a sunset. Nice.

By the way, I’m going to go for my boat licence soon. Can I quiz you as well as Ant?!! Only joking 😀

Jen 🙂

Thanks Jen. I’ll have to post some of the sunsets here (although I don’t get them from my door).

Your boating licence! How cool! I’ll help if I can. Some of your regulations may be a little different, but the basics should be the same.

Remember – Red Left Port and Green Right Starboard

-Alice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

Calendar

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
