BCQuilter's Weblog

Your Opportunity to say how you feel about quilting…

Posted on: 11 July 2008

It truly amazes me, how small our world is, and how we can find connections in the strangest of places.

Last month I ordered four books from an online bookstore.  One of the books was “The Quilter’s Catalog – A Comprehensive Resource Guide”, by Meg Cox.   I hadn’t heard of this book prior to my ordering it, but it seems it is everywhere now.    Mark Lipinksi mentioned it in one the editions of his magazine Quilter’s Home. Not sure if I missed the edition, or I didn’t read the article, but I missed his review.

I received an e-newsletter today, and there was a blurb about Meg Cox and the book.  It mentioned that she is beginning her research on a sequel, and is asking quilters to fill out a ten-question survey.  You don’t have to have read her book.   She wants to know how you feel about quilting.  Be as brief as you want, or as wordy.

Here is your opportunity to say how you feel about quilting, and perhaps it may end up in her book.

I was taken aback at one of her questions… how many quilts have you made.   I had to take some time to think about it… in fact, I made a list.   In two years I have made 30 quilted projects – from pot holders, to table runners, from wall-hangings to bed size quilts.    I don’t have a lot of UFO’s, but I’m glad she didn’t ask about those!    If I add the works started and in various stages of completion… I could easily add 10 more.

Hmmm… I need to get back to organizing my quilt’n room, and get to work on some of these projects.

Feel free to leave me a comment on how you feel about quilting… passions, memorable moments, frustrations, satisfaction… whatever.  And if you are visiting, and you are not a quilter, tell me what you like about the quilts you have seen.

2 Responses to "Your Opportunity to say how you feel about quilting…"

Six degrees of seperation is what they say Alice. I’d be interested to know what the other nine questions were but as to how many quilty things I’ve made – not that many. I’ve been quilting for 15 years and have so far made about seven quilts, a couple of wallhangings, a couple of cushion covers, a couple of bags and a couple of pincushions.

You beat me by miles!

What I like most about quilting and in turn dressmaking is that you take a pile of fabric and turn it into something useful.

If you are lucky, it might also be pleasant to look at.

Being entirely self-taught I’ve had plenty of frustrations along the way and made lots of silly mistakes. The most frustrating things are not being able to afford the fabric I would like to buy and knowing that I probably won’t be able to make all the quilts I would like to before I lose my sight and use of my hands.

I never hesitate to purchase some useful piece of equipment that makes patchwork/quilting easier. I always see it as a good investment.

I’m not a quilter who needs *challenges*. I like various styles and patterns including some of the more bold colour choices.

I usually don’t have UFOs as I prefer to finish a project before starting another, however, I like to have a hand-pieced project on the go as well as a machine pieced one. This is the first year where I will have three projects at various stages of completion at the same time.

I have three birthday quilts to make next year and I have started to look at patterns/fabrics for inspiration. I sometimes wonder if it’s dangerous to be thinking that far ahead.

Thanks for the opportunity to ramble on!

Cheers Ann 🙂

Hey Ann, you are always welcome to ramble on.. .if you keep this up, we may have to get you blogging… now where did I read that? *grin*. Thanks for sharing your experiences, I am interested to read what others experiences have been. -A

Thanks for the link Alice, I’ve done the questionnaire but it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

Like you I got stuck at the ‘how many quilts’ question, I’ve been quilting for so long I really don’t have a good idea – so I put in approximately 50.

I like questionnaires of this type, where you really feel that you’re contributing. I hope Meg gets some good replies.

Jen 🙂

Hey Jen, I am finding the oddest connections. And I know what you mean about not finding it easy… it definitely made me pause and think. I’m enjoying reading her book, and I look forward to her next one. -Alice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 99 other followers

Calendar

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
