BCQuilter's Weblog

Gotta Love Cats – completed!

Posted on: 6 September 2008

I am very proud to announce the completion of the quilt for my Mom.  I have named it “Gotta Love Cats”.  My mom is a fanatic cat lover!

There is a little story behind this quilt.  In April 2006, I attended my first Guild Demo night – Redwork.  I was a little anxious at first, because I didn’t know very much, actually very little about quilting, and didn’t think I would ever use this technique… well, at least not in the near future at that time.  But I thought, it is a new skill, and even if I never use it, or don’t use it for several years, I’ll know how to do it.  It was a fun evening.

Or so I thought!  HAH!

I believe as I was driving home that evening, an idea struck me for a quilt for my Mom.  I would make her a quilt with cats, and do the cats in redwork.  But what would I use for an alternating block.  I had read about those, although didn’t really know much about them either.   I looked on the internet, and found a block that would be appropriate… “Puss in the Corner”.   I started buying 1/2 yard pieces of red fabrics.  My Mom likes the colour red… this worked out well, I think, as it is Redwork.

Where do I find “Cats”.   Okay, one of the suggestions from the demo night was colouring books.  So after a hunt high and low, I found a few old colouring books.  My kids are pretty much out of that stage.   And try and find “traditional” colouring books… oh no… they are all “themed” – Spiderman, Barbie, Dora, etc etc etc.  Then I thought, I would check the internet.   Found quite a few there too.  In order to trace some of them, I had to “remove” the colour from the image… which I did using MS Paint.  I’m thinking now, I would have been smarter just to print them, and go over the areas I wanted to trace/stitch with a heavier marker.  Ah well… it’s all a learning experience.   It took me two years to complete this quilt.   I am pleased with the way it turned out.

Each Puss-in-the-corner block is quilted differently.  I was “learning” how to machine quilt, and wanted to work on free motion.  A few blocks have “kitty” type words in them – Meow, and such.  As well as the names written in free motion, of my Mom’s current cats – Bugsy, Opie, Smoky.   And there are hearts galore over the quilt.

This block is the first one I quilted… I drew a design then used Press-n-Seal to “mark” the quilt.  I wrote about my adventures with this technique/tool in this blog – Glad Press’n’seal – the new quilting tool.

I had purchased a couple of Patsy Thompson’s quilting DVDs, and had watched them, trying to decide how to quilt this quilt.   The blocks were “easy” enough, I suppose, but the borders intimidated me.  I haven’t marked a quilt, especially a big one, to be quilted, the thought scares me.  I know… eventually I’ll get over it.  With a little inspiration, well, actually a lot of inspiration from Patsy’s DVD’s I just went for it on the borders.  I combined a “lazy” vine, with some hearts, instead of doing a feather motif.  I used a variegated cream to brown thread.  I had a lot of fun doing this.  In the corner 4-patch blocks I did a double square on point.

See… more cats in the border too!

Then there’s the label.   Usually I find the label the hardest thing to do for a quilt.   In fact, I had this label done before I finished the quilting.  I had an extra block left over, and I decided to Machine Stitch the information on a piece of muslin, and use the decorative heart stitch to attach it to the extra block.

Check it out… kitties on the backing too!  I had been told that when making a “Cat” quilt, one must also always include a mouse.  While trying to figure out, how I was going to quilt it, I played with the idea of mice chasing each other around the border, but, the marking of it all, intimidated me.   So, I red-worked the cat and mouse on the label.

Although the quilt is 3 months past my deadline, I am very happy how it turned out.  (I have mentioned that).   Now to get it packaged up, and shipped to my Mom.  Do you think she’d mind if I kept it until next Spring… our quilt show is in March.

Now, for the part to get you pondering.   Is there a skill/technique that you didn’t think you would want to do.  If you can, take a class, or a workshop, or attend a demonstration, or find a book, and learn it.  You’ll be surprised with where it may lead you.

Have you ever wondered where some names for blocks come from?  You probably are aware that some blocks have several names, dependent on where they originated or even where they were made.

The Puss-in-the-corner block does have a bit of history.   It is actually based on a children’s game, a version of tag.  There is a player in each corner, and the puss is in the center of a room. On an agreed signal the players attempt to move to the next corner. The puss tries to beat them to the corner. If the puss is successful, the player now becomes the puss.

Until our next quilting adventure.  -Alice

6 Responses to "Gotta Love Cats – completed!"

Alice, your quilt has turned out so well. What a remarkable journey from that first class! I hope you are keeping a quilt journal.

I like the Puss-in-the-Corner blocks, the cat fabrics and the pretty stitcheries. Even your label is marvellous.

I bet you look like the “cat that got the cream”.

There’s a lot to be said for trying something new and let’s face it – you’ll never know if you can do something if you don’t try.

I bet your mum will be delighted when she sees it.

Happy Stitching,
Ann 🙂

I love the redwork cats mixed with Puss in the Corner blocks! Fabulous! I’m the most horrible redworker you’d ever want to meet but, just like applique, I love and admire it but suck at doing it! xoxom

http://www.marklipinski.com

I like your story. Thanks for sharing. I think it looks fantastic. Don’t forget to tell your mom how we have all been rooting for this! I love the cats and my mom would, too. Happy quilting. Rosemarie

I’m not surprised you’re so proud of it – such an achievement for one of your first quilts!!! (I’m proud of you too!) 🙂 I love the beige-y type kitty fabric in the border – too cute!

Actually, redwork is something I’d like to try but I think it’s on a long list of ‘somethings’.

How is your beading going? Have you done any more on the bargello quilt?

*big high 5* Jen 😀

I am very proud of you Alice, its a wonderful quilt and I am a very lucky Mom to have you for my Daughter.
I think it would be grand for you to show it off in your quilt show in March.
big hugs and lots of love
Mom

A big hello to Alice’s Mom from Australia. I’m delighted you like your quilt and we have all enjoyed *watching* Alice bring it together. She’s a lovely girl but I’m sure that’s because she has such a lovely mum.

Cheers
Ann 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 96 other followers

Calendar

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
