BCQuilter's Weblog

Getting close to Christmas

Posted on: 19 December 2011

I can’t believe it is almost Christmas.  And I am no where near being ready, but that’s okay.  We have decided to keep things low-key this year.

When I thought I had more energy, I started making Yo-Yo Angels.  My plan was to make lots and lots, and sell them.  But my recovery is taking longer than I expected, and so have bundled them all away for now.  Family will be in for a treat, because that is where most of them will be going.

The photos I am including are the “individual” angels.  Pins, magnets and ornaments.  I made several “collections” of ornaments for Christmas.  The skirts are the same, but other than that they are unique.

Pins

Magnets

Christmas Angel Ornaments

Making the yo-yos was made easier using the Clover Yo-Yo maker.  I was able to recline and make lots and lots.  The angel assembly took a bit.  A little sewing, a little hot gluing, and even some tacky gluing.

I’ve been commissioned to make several Christmas Nativity projects for a friend.  It’s a good thing she is not in a rush, she asked for the Stocking first, which is Cross-stitch, and every space is stitched.  I have about 20 hours into it, and only about a 5″ x5″ square complete.  It looks beautiful so far, but a lot of work.  Several projects are hand-work, which gives me something to do in front of the TV.

Health Update:

My recovery is taking longer than I thought.  I saw my Urologist/Surgeon in October, to find out that I could expect at least a year recovery, why didn’t they tell me that to begin with?  I would have done things differently, but alas, what is done is done, I can now go forward with the knowledge I have.  Besides being fatigued with the odd bout of nausea I am doing fair.  My 6 month Chest-xray and Ultrasound came back clear, so I am good for another 6 months.  I realized last week, when I was going to see my doctor for the ultrasound results, that for all intents and purposes, right now, I am tumour free!  What a wonderful sensation.  I suppose I hadn’t really thought of having my kidney removed, was actually having the tumour removed.   Odd how the mind works.

The surgeon told me, that if I was tired, I was doing to much.  I stopped doing everything at home.  No household chores, no fun stuff.  All I was doing was going to work – 4 hour shifts, 3 days a week, alternating days.  When I saw my doctor, we were both concerned about my lack of progress in recovery.  I have been experiencing a fair bit of discomfort especially at night, and I really didn’t think about it.  Until the night I woke up with abdominal pain, and took another pain killer.  I slept wonderfully, and had the best day I’ve had in I don’t know how long.   I went to my doctor about 3 weeks ago with that information.  He prescribed a slow-release pain killer.  I took it for 2 nights, had some issues, and stopped taking it until I saw him last week.  I’m back on it.  Haven’t had great days yet, but I am sleeping with no pain, just wish I could sleep longer.  We have decided I should stop work for 6 weeks, to fully do nothing, and to give myself a kick-start into recovery.

With Christmas so close, it is hard to stop, and not do anything.  Everything I do, have to budget my energies around.   I’m learning, but it is a steep learning curve, I must tell you.

So with this update, I would like to take this opportunity to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year!

Until the next time!

-Alice

8 Responses to "Getting close to Christmas"

It’s great to read your blog again! I’ve suspected for quite a while that you are trying to do too much; seems I was right — again! *wink* You need to realize you cannot be all things to all people, family or not! You can never take care of them if you don’t take care of YOU! ‘Nuf said?? I do hope your recovery speeds up when you actually give up so much activity!

Those yo-yo angels are precious! Did you just think those up? I bet you did! They will make special keepsakes for you family. They would make cute tree decorations too! Can’t you just see a little Christmas tree covered with them? Sweet!!

We are having heavy rains this afternoon, and severe storms, like in springtime, predicted for later tonight! We need the rain, but I don’t like storms! It’s getting cold, but I don’t think it’s supposed to freeze, hopefully!

My parties are mostly over, except maybe for a couple of small ones, and of course, the family on Christmas Eve. I still have not done my shopping! Maybe tomorrow!

Take care of yourself! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

—“Love”

It’s been a hard lesson, but I’ve learned it. I am taking care of me!

As for the yo-yo angels, no I didn’t come up with the idea. I should have taken pictures of the collections, as they have different embellishments instead of the ribbons. And then of course, I found Christmas/Winter themed buttons for more!

Thank you for the pep talk! LOL.

-Alice

Your little anges are adorable! When you are better you will have to tell us more about how you made them. Your family is going to love getting these for Christmas!

Now, take care of yourself and get lots of rest. Hopefully in your next blog update you will let us know you are healing so much better.

Merry Christmas to your and all of your wonderful family!

Marsha

I’m glad to hear you’re recovering, if slowly. Enjoy the forced relaxation! (I say that but know how hard it would be for me to do just that.) The little angels are adorable and so clever and the cross stitch sounds like a great project to keep your hands and mind busy while you’re following doctor’s orders! Merry Christmas!

Even though your recovery is slow, it sounds positive. To stop and do nothing sounds wonderful, so long as I could still knit! 😉

I am so surprised that you were working so much. I think that the time off work is critical. And lots of rest. I hope that your healing starts speeding up so that you can do everything you want to do without the fatigue.
Your angels are just the cutest. My sister loves angels. Your family will love them for years to come.
Speedy recovery and happy holidays.

Good to see you online. Sorry to hear recovery is slower than expected. It sounds like slow and steady is the name of the game.

Just Another Quilter

Good news that you are tumor free! I am sure it is hard not to do all the things that you would normally do and want to do, but best follow the doctor’s orders so that you can gain back your strength. The surgery and treatments take a lot out of you and you need some pampering! Love the little angels! They are adorable. Have a very happy Christmas@

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 99 other followers

Calendar

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
