BCQuilter's Weblog

Memories of Maui

Posted on: 7 February 2012

That is the name of the “Hawaiian Quilt” I’ve been working on for over a year. I should clarify… I didn’t have it for the entire year, it spent about 4 months at the quilters.  You may remember the beginning of it from this post.

I delivered it to the woman who commissioned me to make it, last Tuesday, Januarey 31.  She was thrilled.

The first thing I told her was that she and I were to be married to the quilt because this quilt has been through “sickness and health, and richer and poorer” or maybe I should marry it.

I haven’t measured it, but I guesstimated about 400 inches of binding I stitched down by hand.  Almost 3/4 done, when the thread started shredding.  I was so frustrated with it, but wanted to get it done.  She was supposed to be on her way back to Hawaii in mid-January.   I had been using Piecemakers Betweens.  The only thing that was different, I started wearing a thimble on my middle finger, as the eye kept poking into my finger, and it was getting rather sore.  After changing thread and the needle.  I changed the needle once more to one with a little larger eye and about 1/4″ longer.  The other thing… I dropped my thimble in the couch.  But I got it done.

I used the ladder stitch, you may remember that I really liked using Sharon Schamber’s binding technique.  Way back then… yes, I looked it up, just over three years ago there wasn’t much on the “ladder stitch”.  Wow, time flies.  Anyway, when I was trying to explain to my mom through messaging on the computer and then by phone,  I did a quick search, and couldn’t believe all the hits.


Marie and her quilt “Memories of Maui”

My friend Shawn (MsLibra) did the quilting on this quilt.  She used a topography design, with foot prints walking up the quilt.

I’ve been asked to make the label for her, and I was hoping to do that on February 8, at my sewing/quilting group, but forgot the hall has been scheduled for another event.  I should work on it from home.  I have some ideas on what I’m going to do, but can’t say anything until its done.  The label will be another blog entry.

I do  regret  I didn’t take photos of all the different shapes of the fabric when I received it.  Approximately half of my time was spent cutting the rectangles.

I’ve been through a lot with this quilt.  It has waited patiently as I went through my health issues.  I am very glad it is completed and soon will go to its forever home, but I will miss it.

Next step is the label.

-Alice

9 Responses to "Memories of Maui"

Beautiful. It is really big. When my wife made a big quilt with 700 pieces, it took also one year to prepare it. They are laborious to make.

Happy quilting!

Good grief, Girl, no wonder you have no energy! That beautiful quilt was a gigantic task! And is it ever gorgeous!! No doubt a part of you is in each fabric piece! MsLibra is to be commended too for the creative quilting! I know you are glad it is finished and delivered. I’m curious what you are planning for the label. Have fun with it! — Glad to see you back in the blogging business this week! Take care of “you”, and get some rest! —“Love”

Yes Love is quite right. You must surely be thrilled with how well it has turned out. I’m sure it will be much treasured. That’s a lot of binding and what a nuisance that the thread started shredding. I tried the ladder stitch but couldn’t stick at it. Shawn’s quilting design was a terrific choice. Looking forward to seeing the label too. Another amazing project! ann 🙂

That is an awesome quilt. I love quilts that have a story, not only of why but of how. She will love it;)
Happy Quilting!!

What a treasure. I can imagine how good it feels to have it finished. I’m glad the gal who commissioned it loved it – she should! I’ll be waiting to see your label – you’ve got me intrigued.

WOW! Now that’s a truly awesome quilt!! 🙂

A truly beautiful masterpiece. I am a novice quilter and have been struggling with a simple diagonal square pattern and I can’t imagine ever producing something this beautiful. You have much to be proud of.

Hello Barbara

Thank you for your kind comments. I’ve made some very interesting looking quilts, and some very nice ones too. I think of myself still as a new quilter, but my friends will tell me I’m not. I too would never have imagined something like this.

Have you taken a class? Try a beginner’s class. Each quilt shop offers something a little different, and in most cases you get a quilt out of it too! My Mom has taken one class three times, and each time she goes she learns and picks up something different. And she really likes the quilt that they make.

Remember, we all had to learn to crawl and walk, before we could run!

-Alice

*giggle*

I’ve been working on the label. Okay, all I’ve done so far is drawn out the idea, and I’m liking it… and pulled out the muslin. Next step is transfering the design to the muslin, doing the writing, then stitch it to the quilt.

This is of course a very simplified version of what I’m doing.. just to keep you intrigued!

-Alice

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 109 other subscribers

Calendar

February 2012
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829